Joy Hellman Mixed Media Artist and Owner of Joy of Art Studio /Joy’s Creative Space/ Joy of Art and Soul

<!– @page { margin: 0.79in } H1 { margin-top: 0in; margin-bottom: 0in; direction: ltr; color: #000000; widows: 2; orphans: 2 } H1.western { font-family: "Times New Roman", serif; font-size: 14pt; so-language: en-US; font-weight: normal } H1.cjk { font-family: "Times New Roman", serif; font-size: 14pt; font-weight: normal } H1.ctl { font-family: "Times New Roman", serif; font-size: 10pt; so-language: ar-SA; font-weight: normal } P { margin-bottom: 0in; direction: ltr; color: #000000; widows: 2; orphans: 2 } P.western { font-family: "Times New Roman", serif; font-size: 12pt; so-language: en-US; font-weight: bold } P.cjk { font-family: "Times New Roman", serif; font-size: 12pt; font-weight: bold } P.ctl { font-family: "Times New Roman", serif; font-size: 10pt; so-language: ar-SA }
–>

Joy Hellman Owner of Joy of Art Studio and Eclectic Multimedia Artist

As an artist I am constantly learning exploring and challenging myself to continue growing and I love the sheer joy of creating! I believe that creating is a magical process. I also enjoy working with other artists because as artists we need the support and reinforcement for our own creative process plus we can always inspire and share ideas with one another.
My media is constantly changing and I enjoy working with all of them. I do not consider myself a watercolorist, but I use it in my mixed media along with fabric, handmade paper and non-art material. I am always experimenting with the possibilities and believe that as an artist you must always be open to spontaneity and the unexpected surprises in the creative process.
I do enjoy traditional art and I work a great deal from photos. I am working on a series from my Paris trip at this time especially paintings from my tour of Auvers and Giverney. I believe that photos can be a wonderful source of reference and inspiration for artwork.
I have favorite artists that have inspired my work including Matisse, Cassett, Monet and Rauschenberg but then that is always changing and depends on what I am working on at the time. I enjoy in-depth study of the masters and their art because I teach art history in my work with homeschool children but I personally enjoy learning about other artists and interpreting their styles and techniques in my own art.
Sometimes my work is more intuitive and when I begin a particular process in a painting pastel or a collage, I really do not know the direction it is taking. I am just exploring and allowing myself the freedom to create without the expectations of the results. Some of my best pieces have been created through this exploratory process.
I believe that the most important thing that artists can do to continue growing and expanding in their creativity is to trust their own process. I also believe that when an artist meets a point of satisfaction with their work, that is when it is time to make a change. When I feel stuck in an area, I change my material, or explore a totally different style or technique. This can usually jolt my creativity and start me into a new direction. Sometimes writing about it or sharing my feelings in my art group gives me the support and encouragement that I need.
I believe for me that the most wonderful thing about being an artist is to participate in the creative process. Even if I were not an artist in the professional sense I would continue to create for it is a great passion and joy in my life.
A person’s license to create is irrevocable and it opens to every corner of daily life. But it is always hard to see that doubt, fear, and indirectness are eternal aspects of the creative path.”
Shaun Mc Niff
Trust Your Process

Leave a Reply

